3 Bayview

Torcross, Devon

6

3

2

1

+ View Room Information

A waterfront period property in the South Hams village of Torcross with exceptional sea views and just metres from the beach

2 nights from £517 Book Now

key features

Amenity icon

Sea View

Amenity icon

Footsteps From The Beach

Amenity icon

Wi-Fi

Amenity icon

Pets Accepted

Amenity icon

Parking

Amenity icon

Patio/balcony

Amenity icon

Children Welcome

Amenity icon

Near Coast Path

Amenity icon

Family Friendly

Amenity icon

Bathtub

Amenity icon

Washing Machine

Amenity icon

Tumble Dryer

Amenity icon

Dishwasher

Amenity icon

Bluetooth Speaker

Amenity icon

Beachfront

Amenity icon

Cot Available

Amenity icon

High Chair

Amenity icon

Coffee Machine

Amenity icon

TV

Amenity icon

Hair Dryer

Amenity icon

Microwave

Amenity icon

Refrigerator

Amenity icon

Oven

Amenity icon

Iron

Overview

Built 150 years ago, 3 Bayview which was once part of of one entire cottage, has since been converted into a two-floor apartment that sits above a smaller, independently owned property. Inside, rather than sleek and sophisticated, you'll find all the charm, character and imperfection of a true period property, along with stunning sea views from nearly all of its rooms.

One of only a handful of properties that sit right on the seafront 3 Bayview is a rare find indeed, where the beach and water rest mere metres from its front door. It goes without saying that holidays here are magical. Homely touches lend an away-from-it-all feel to the place, while high quality features throughout mean you can completely unwind within minutes of plonking your bags down. Along with a separate kitchen/ diner and top floor living room, the property offers three good size bedrooms. Window seats found in the main bedroom and lounge make perfect perches for spotting Start Bay’s resident seals and dolphins, and if you’re looking for a place to catch up on a bit of reading in the sunshine, you’ll be able to sneak away to the small roof top balcony at the back of the home with views over Slapton Ley.

Being metres from Start Bay Inn means fresh fish suppers are just a few steps away, or for a full English brekkie (of eye-watering proportions), Stokeley Farm Shop is just minutes by car. Another gem which is within throwing distance is The Billy Can Cafe with its retro sweet shop and gifts. The cafe serves up terrific breakfasts along with a lunch menu that includes dishes like fresh crab sandwiches and a hearty Ploughman's Platter. But there’s no getting away from the fact that Torcross is all about its beach, and what a beach it is! Looking positively Mediterranean on a bright, blue-sky day, its waters are clear and calm and just right for kayaking, swimming or windsurfing (if conditions are right). On cooler days you’ll be able to stroll along the shore and take in those exceptional ocean scenes or hop in the car and pop over to Dartmouth for shopping sprees followed by lunch on the River Dart.


*Please note that this property's windows are regularly cleaned however its proximity to the sea means that salt deposits are unavoidable when there's an Easterly blowing. Guests who wish to give them a once-over will find a squeegee (with microfibre cover) in the hallway

**This flat will appeal to those who appreciate older cottages with their imperfections, quirks and character features. If you’ve any doubts if 3 Bayview is the right choice for you, please get in touch to discuss your requirements prior to booking.
  • Things to know

    Check in time: 16:00
    Check out time: 10:00
    Security Deposit: We ask our guests for a £100 good housekeeping bond, which is pre-authorised against your card. This is in case there is any damage to the property during your stay. The money is simply reserved (held as a pending transaction) and then released afterwards if there is no damage or additional cleaning. This will be held on the card on file 7 days prior to your arrival.
    Pets: 1 pet allowed, £40 per week, in line with our house rules we do ask that pets are not left alone in the property, do not use the furniture or go in the upstairs/bedroom areas
    Number of steps: A flight of 12 steps to the living areas, two further flights throughout the property
    Type of heating: Central heating
    Linen & Towels: Bed linen is provided for your stay, however, if you require use of the travel cot you will need to bring your own cot linen. Each guest will be supplied with one hand towel and one bath towel for their stay. (If your holiday is longer than 10 days, please contact the Luxury Coastal team to discuss a mid-stay linen change)
    Wi-Fi: This property offers free Wi-Fi for guests, however, we cannot guarantee the speed and connectivity. Therefore, if you are planning to work during your holiday, we recommend bringing a Wi-Fi dongle.
    Coffee Machine: Saeco Intuita bean to cup coffee machine
    Smoking: All of our properties are non-smoking and we ask that any party member who smokes, do so off the premises.
    Property surroundings: 3 Bayview is in a peaceful location which is best suited to families or couples looking to enjoy a relaxing break near the beach

Room Information

  • Living
    A waterside apartment set over two floors (please note that the ground floor apartment is private accommodation and not part of 3 Bayview)
    Ground floor entrance hall with coat and shoe rack

    Living room
    The top floor living room can be found up two flights of stairs from the ground floor entrance hall. The room features exposed beams with whitewashed original stone feature walls, a decorative fireplace inglenook and a fabulous, upholstered window seat with bay views
    Furnished with a TV cabinet and flat screen Smart TV, BluRay player, Sonos Play 5 with a Bluetooth adaptor, two leather sofas, foot stool, coffee table and side tables
  • Kitchen & Dining
    Kitchen / diner
    The first floor kitchen features a Juliet balcony with doors opening out to a stunning panoramic sea view.
    White quartz worktops with bespoke satin grey cabinetry house a selection of large and small appliances including a Bosch fan-assisted electric oven and Bosch hob, Liebherr fridge, freezer, Bosch dishwasher, Saeco Intuita bean to cup coffee machine, Nutribullet blender, microwave, kettle, toaster, waffle and toastie makers as well as a range of cookware, crockery and cutlery.
    Pure Jongo Bluetooth speaker within the kitchen
    (An iron, ironing board, vacuum cleaner and airer are located in nook in the hallway)

    Dining area
    Within the kitchen space, this area has a wooden table with 6 chairs and incredible sea views
  • Bedrooms
    Master en suite
    The second floor master bedroom features its own en-suite shower room and has a king size bed with firm Otty mattress. Other furnishings include bedside tables, bedside lamps, dressing table with stool, mirror, built-in wardrobe, chest of drawers. There is a secret nook to the back of the room with wonderful views over Slapton Ley and an upholstered window seat to the front with amazing sea views

    Bedroom Two
    This first floor bedroom is furnished with a double bed, chest of drawers, bedside lamps and mirror. There is an open hanging space with rail for clothes. The room has lovely sea views

    Bedroom Three
    The third bedroom is also located on the first floor and is furnished with twin beds, mirror, bedside tables, built-in wardrobe and bedside lamps
  • Bathrooms
    Bathroom One
    En suite shower room to the top floor master bedroom with walk in shower cubicle and electric shower, heated towel rail, hand basin, pedestal cabinet and WC

    Bathroom Two
    The family bathroom which is located on the first floor has a bath with electric shower over, a hand basin and cabinet, mirror, shaving point and heated towel rail (no WC). Next to the bathroom there is a separate cloakroom with WC and basin
    A built-in utility cupboard in the family bathroom houses the tumble dryer and washing machine
  • Outside
    Rooftop balcony off the living room overlooking Slapton Ley with seating space for up to four people, a drinks table and plants - a real sun trap in the afternoons when conditions are right.
    There is a Juliet balcony off the kitchen accessed via the window / door with incredible views over Start Bay and the beach.
  • Parking
    A permit for all Torcross parking options, including the spaces to the rear of the property alongside Slapton Ley, is provided for one car. Additional free parking is available without charge in the area outside the Billy Can café, just a minute walk from the property, or is chargeable in the other nearby parking areas. For tariff information click here

Check Availability

Selected Booked
Important Icon

3 Bayview is in a peaceful location which is best suited to families or couples looking to enjoy a relaxing break near the beach. If your booking falls outside either of these groups, please get in touch before making your booking to discuss your requirements

*Please note this property is accessed via a flight of 12 steps.

**Guests with very young children or small dogs should be mindful of the gap between the doors and the Juliet balcony in the kitchen.

Good Housekeeping Bond

We ask our guests for a £100 good housekeeping bond, which is pre-authorised against your card. This is in case there is any damage to the property during your stay. The money is simply reserved and then released afterwards if there is no claim. We will contact you nearer the time of your arrival to arrange this.

Spread the cost of your holiday balance with our flexible payment plan Find out more.

Welcome to Torcross

There’s nothing like a seaside village with plenty to discover. Torcross is home to spectacular scenery, a friendly community and a fascinating history. If you’re dreaming of days spent in flip flops, you’re going to fall in love with the three-mile sandy beach that seems to roll on forever. There are plenty of tranquil trails for the walkers, and everything just feels calm and spacious all year round.

more about Torcross

Reviews

Decor update
4.3/5

Stunningly beautiful scenery, amazing location. Two flights of stairs to the top floor. Lovely pub and cafe on the front. Safe for kids and pets as no traffic to the front.

Guest, 02 Jun 2024

Hi Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the location and views from the property! Your feedback has been passed onto the owner and property manager and we do hope to welcome you to stay with Luxury Coastal again in the future. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal team

Hope - The Luxury Coastal Team - 02 Jun 2024

Need more than sea view for ‘luxury ‘
4/5

Firstly Bayview is in an amazing spot & parking was easy . The kitchen was well equipped . Every room had lovely views . However our few days were marred by the sofas in the living room , where because of weather we spent more time than would have liked . Both seats especially 2 seater were SO uncomfortable & the 2 seater was so low down to floor , it made my back & hips ache , so I sat on 3 seater but made my neck hurt looking at the Tv from that angle . There were instructions not to move any furniture . So we didn’t but by the time we left I was in a lot of discomfort & taking painkillers . Definitely not my idea of luxury .

Guest, 28 Mar 2024

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the lovely views and location of the property. We are very sorry to hear about the sofas, we have passed on your comments to the owner who is looking into getting them refurbished, they have asked us to pass on their thanks for taking the time to let them know. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team Update 27.04.24. We are very pleased to report that the sofas have now been fully refurbished with new foam, springs and finishings to ensure a more comfortable stay. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention to allow us to rectify this issue. Best wishes, Luxury Coastal

Mary - Luxury Coastal - 28 Mar 2024

Location, location, location
4.5/5

We loved staying in this apartment, and wouldn't have missed seeing the high waves crashing on the beach and our dash along the sea front to The Start Bay Inn for fish and chips, on the one day that it was stormy. On other days the sea was calm and we loved sitting on the window seats enjoying the view or popping across to the beach. I marked it down by one for cleanliness because there was a large dog chew left under the bed in the twin room and a little dust on surfaces in the sitting room. Otherwise it was perfectly clean. It was marked down for comfort as the 2 seater sofa in the sitting room was very uncomfortable. Response from Harry for queries I had was quick and efficient.

Geraldine, 17 Mar 2024

Hi Geraldine, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so glad to hear you loved the apartment and enjoyed the view from the window seats as well as the local amenities. Thank you for the feedback, the dust can be due to the weather the house will shake when it is rough, the sofa we find can be peoples personal preference. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team

Chloe-The Luxury Coastal Team - 17 Mar 2024

Stunning
4.2/5

We had a fantastic time, location perfect if you like to spend time near the sea I love fishing and caught a couple of fish which made my stay, we saw Tuna jumping at the Start Point Light House, a seal came to visit us on the beach every day, lovely food in the pub 100yds away.

James, 18 Oct 2023

Hi James, thank you for your lovely review, it sounds like you had an amazing time fishing and how lovely to have a seal come up to the beach every day! Torcross is a great place for spending time by the sea and relaxing. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Mary - 18 Oct 2023

Seaside holiday
4.8/5

The property was very well equipped and comfortable. The location is unrivaled and has easy access to lovely places to visit. There is everything you need in the property for a relaxing break. The pub just down the road to excellent fish and chips and a good place for a meal and a drink. At night there is just the sound of waves on the beach so very peaceful. Recommended. However the two flights of stairs are very steep so only suitable for the agile.

Keith, 06 Oct 2023

Hi Keith, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay, it certainly is in a wonderful location. Thank you too for your feedback about the stairs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Mary - 06 Oct 2023

A week in Torcross
4.5/5

Excellent location. Sleeps 6. Only parking permit for one car which should be for a minimum of two cars. A few cobwebs about in living areas.Hot water pressure in kitchen weak and master bedroom ensuite had blocked drain in shower...we cleared this and avoided a flood. Loved the tilt and turn windows. Loved the view, and the rear balcony is a lovely area. Loved everything apart from the minor issues previously mentioned.

Guest, 26 Aug 2023

Hi Roberta, Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay at 3 Bayview. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the house and the view from the property and we do apologise for the points you have mentioned, we have passed this onto the Property Manager so this can be rectified for future guests. We do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team

Hope - The Luxury Coastal Team - 26 Aug 2023

3 Bay View
3.5/5

We had a lovely stay at Bayview. It is not what I class as luxury accommodation. It felt a little grubby when we arrived. Stains on the furnishings, dirty windows, especially in the kitchen. My first instinct was to give the place a deep clean! There were also a significant number of air fresheners dotted around everywhere! We had to remove them and open all the windows as my husband and daughter’s asthma started to kick in- not what you would expect from a place by the sea. Saying all that , the beds were comfy and the views of the sea from the upstairs windows were amazing. Not sure I would stay there again though. I would want something cleaner and more modern , for the money we paid for one week. Thank you

Deborah, 19 Aug 2023

Hi Deborah, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We greatly care about guest experience so please know that we are taking this seriously and have organised a meeting with the property managers at the property so we can have a look at and address all issues you have mentioned. We want to ensure that improvements are made so that these issues do not arise again so thank you for bringing them to our attention. We are pleased you found the mattresses to be comfortable and we hope you choose to stay with Luxury Coastal again, we have over 300 properties to choose from. Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Fionnuala-Luxury Coastal - 19 Aug 2023

Beautiful location
3/5

We arrived at about 8.30 pm after driving around 4oo miles, including some sight seeing detours. We were stunned by the beautiful scenery on the approach. When we got into 3 Bayview we were confronted by cobwebs. Everywhere. Literally everywhere. If it had been Halloween we would have thought it was decorated. There was dust over the fireplace and it took more than an hour to clean the place. Previous reviews talk of a welcome pack. That must be a thing of the past. They talk of thick, luxurious towels. They, too , are no more. We found clean, small, cheap, bleach-stained towels instead. That really wasn't an issue for us but it is a sign that standards have slipped over time. One evening I decided to cook. I put food on the hob and, eventually figured how to put the extractor on. It dumped white dust everywhere over the hob, the food and, to a lesser extent, me. The design of the accommodation is fantastic. The views, both front and back are gorgeous. The bed was comfortable. The holiday was great. It's just a shame that the attention to cleaning and basic maintenance was poor.

Craig, 06 Aug 2023

Hi Craig, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay and for providing us with your useful feedback to enable us to continue to grow and improve. We are so sorry to hear that the property was not at the cleanliness standard we would expect for your arrival, we have discussed this with both the property owner and managers to ensure a more thorough dusting going forward. We always look to rectify any cleanliness concerns as soon as possible and our property managers are more than happy to visit during our guest's holiday to put right anything that may have been sadly missed. Thank you for letting us know about the towels, these have now been replaced with new fluffy towels and the welcome folder has been replaced with a new updated version after the previous copy unfortunately went missing. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the wonderful view and had a great holiday in gorgeous Torcross. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team

Lois - Luxury Coastal - 06 Aug 2023

Stunning beachfront Location
3.8/5

3 Bayview is a beautiful beachfront located property. It has an unusual layout entering in through a beachfront main door through a small corridor and up a flight of stairs to the first floor access to a toilet and separate bathroom with bath and shower to left and two bedrooms and kitchen to the right. Then up a further set of stairs into a dormer extension where the lounge area and master suite is located with glorious views. The property could be out of this world but is sadly getting a little tired in places but still offered us fabulous accommodation for our week long stay at Torcross beach. Things to improve replace things that are getting a little tatty, paint/plaster especially in the downstairs hall area if you brush against it fell off very crumbly due to the history of the property maybe just a notice in the welcome book to say take care and that you are aware that this happens. Ensure furnishings(cushion covers) beach made accessories (mirror in suite) (bathroom tiles)are clean and in good repair. The kitchen could do with normal bin bags for non recycling, tinfoil and really needs a bigger fridge freezer as the choice of eat out nearby is really just fish and chips which were lovely but very pricey and limited unless you drive further afield. The Billycan offers a really good breakfast but again pricey. The guest book in the kitchen had fell apart. Some pegs to use the airer in the outside seating area would be handy can get very windy (there is a dryer but we were aware of the noise for neighbours) The lounge wall is yellowing and lets the appearance down lick of white would spruce that up and decent picture hooks picture in lounge kept dropping off the wall when you sat on sofa underneath it. Perhaps (since luxury property) welcome pack of basics bread milk tea as there isn’t a quick walk shop. Our weather was brilliant and our party of 6 4 adults 2 teens and westie had an amazing time here, as the beach is pebble it would be amazing to have a couple of sun loungers on property, not good for the back trying to lie down and enjoy the sun! But it was always about being beachfront and those stunning views not to forget our little visitors the very friendly seals who we miss very much and big up to the Queens Head in Slapton top notch little pub fabulous service and amazing food too far for us to walk only a short drive away well worth a visit.

Carl, 05 Aug 2023

Hi Carl, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are always grateful for feedback so thank you for your carefully considered points of constructive feedback. We will absolutely be passing this on to the property owner so they can book in some maintenance days. We hope to welcome you back through Luxury Coastal doors again one day. Best Wishes, Luxury Coastal.

Fionnuala-Luxury Coastal - 05 Aug 2023

Great location. A little tired
3.7/5

Lovely place to stay and wake up by the sea. The property is in need of a face lift. A thorough clean is required throughout. Very poor pressure and no hot water in kitchen. Information pack and WiFi code were missing and had to be replaced.

Anthony, 20 May 2023

Hello Anthony, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location of the property and made good use of it. I have passed on your comments to the property owners so they can act on your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes, Luxury Coastal.

Emily - 20 May 2023

Related Properties

ocean 1, newquay

Let's stay in touch...

Sign up to the Luxury Coastal newsletter to find out about our latest properties, competitions and holiday inspiration.