The West Front, Cathedral View

Wells, Somerset





+ View Room Information

Set within a meadow on a privately-operated working farm, this luxury glamping pod is just a stroll from Wells

2 nights from £345 Book Now

key features

Amenity icon

Hot Tub

Amenity icon


Amenity icon

Pets Accepted

Amenity icon


Amenity icon

Enclosed Garden

Amenity icon


Amenity icon


Amenity icon


Amenity icon

Bluetooth Speaker

Amenity icon


Amenity icon

Hair Dryer

Amenity icon


Amenity icon


Amenity icon



With the atmosphere of a market town, Wells, the smallest city in England, is a captivating place to visit. Characterised by its Medieval cathedral and historic cobbled streets, the city is also awash with independent shops and restaurants, creating the perfect place to explore. Nestled in the heart of rural Somerset, at the base of the Mendips, the location is also a dream for those who love spending time in nature, with rolling countryside and natural beauty right on its doorstep.

Contemporary, spacious, and airy, its design blends modern luxury with rustic touches. An open plan layout integrates the dining area, living space, kitchen, and bedroom, all of which look out over the meadow and towards Wells Cathedral in the distance.

French doors connect the interior to the outside timber deck, where guests can unwind in the sunshine, and a private hot tub tucks away to the side of the property providing the ultimate place for relaxation. A fire bowl serves as both a grill for outdoor feasts and a spot to cosy up with a hot chocolate or glass of wine in the evenings.

The West Front also welcomes to pets, and the property is fully enclosed by a secure fence, offering peace of mind. A public bridleway lies just beyond the field and the numerous walks and trails surrounding the site, invite both human and canines to get outdoors for fresh air and exercise. And if you crave a taste of city life, Wells is a leisurely stroll away with places like The Bishop's Table offering a delightful spot for a leisurely coffee or brunch.

*For a truly magical experience or to celebrate a special occasion, the owners offer balloon rides from the site. There is also a chauffeur service to and from Glastonbury Festival. Please enquire with the Luxury Coastal team at the time of booking
  • Things to know

    Check in time: 16:00
    Check out time: 10:00
    Security Deposit: We ask our guests for a £100 good housekeeping bond, which is pre-authorised against your card. This is in case there is any damage to the property during your stay. The money is simply reserved (held as a pending transaction) and then released afterwards if there is no damage or additional cleaning. This will be held on the card on file 7 days prior to your arrival.
    Pets: 1 pet allowed, £25 per pet per week, in line with our house rules we do ask that pets are not left alone in the property, do not use the furniture
    Number of steps: 2 steps to access
    Type of heating: Electric
    Linen & Towels: Bed linen is provided for your stay. Each guest will be supplied with one hand towel and one bath towel for their stay. (if your holiday is longer than 10 days, please contact the Luxury Coastal team to discuss a mid-stay linen change)
    Wi-Fi: This property offers free Wi-Fi for guests, however, we cannot guarantee the speed and connectivity. Therefore, if you are planning to work during your holiday, we recommend bringing a wifi dongle.
    Hot Tub: A supply of wood will be provided to heat the hot tub, which will usually be enough for your stay based on typical use. Should you require more wood, it can be purchased on-site as required
    Smoking: All of our properties are non-smoking and we ask that any party member who smokes, do so off the premises.
    Additional Extras: Various wines, flowers and hampers can be purchased for your arrival. These can be added at the time of booking or on the guest portal.

Room Information

  • Living
    This property is heated with electric radiators

    Living / Dining area
    A sumptuous sofa for lazing on, and a flat screen Smart TV as well as a Bluetooth speaker allowing guests to set the mood to the sounds of their favourite playlists or station
  • Kitchen & Dining
    Small but beautifully equipped kitchen with countryside views, induction hob, fridge (no freezer compartment) and sink. There is a combined microwave and oven, toaster, kettle and small range of utensils, cookware and crockery
    A starter pack of tea, coffee, and sugar, is provided

    Dining Area
    A functional table and bar stools in the lounge area
  • Bedrooms
    The comfortable double bed faces the garden so that guests can enjoy morning lie-in with countryside views
  • Bathrooms
    The bathroom has a walk-in shower cubicle with rain-head, hand basin, heated towel rail, and flushing toilet. Towels and a hair dryer are provided
  • Outside
    The hut has its own private garden with a seating area to the front. A fire pit, grill and bowl are perfect for BBQ’s or for cosying up in front of in the evenings. The private wood fired hot tub offers stunning countryside and cathedral views and is perfect for relaxation any time of the day. Logs for the hot tub are supplied and more are available to buy on site
  • Parking
    Parking is found next to the lodge

Check Availability

Selected Booked
Important Icon

We ask our guests for a £50 security deposit, pre-authorised against your credit card. This is in case there is any damage to the property during your stay. The money is simply reserved and then released afterwards if there is no damage. We will contact you nearer the time of your arrival to arrange this. 

A supply of wood will be provided to heat the hot tub, which will usually be enough for your stay based on typical use. Should you require more wood, it can be purchased on site as required.

Spread the cost of your holiday balance with our flexible payment plan Find out more.

Welcome to Cathedral View, Wells

Set in a quiet corner of a working farm on the outskirts of Wells, these gorgeous glamping pods are the perfect combination of rural retreat and city break. But don’t let their rustic setting fool you. Beautifully designed both outside and in, the Cathedral View pods aren’t anything short of luxurious, so if you’re still partial to your creature comforts, you can pack light for your adventure as these have been provided for you by the bucket load.

More about Cathedral View Glamping, Wells


Great weekend away just to relax

Will go again, had a wonderful weekend, just to relax and not think about anything. The tub was lovely, the view great and the peace and quiet, fantastic. Highly recommend.

Miles, 11 Mar 2024

Hello Miles, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful weekend and that you would recommend the property. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Emily - Luxury Coastal - 11 Mar 2024


So I have already complained to suffolk coastal and been offered 20 percent back which I diddnt think was good enough considering how much it was especially as you pretty much lose half a day because of the cleaning routine. So I went to make dinner and had to wash the pans up as they were greasy and had food on. Went to make a cup of tea and the cups were dirty. Complementary biscuits had an open pack so couldn't of been checked properly. Dirty marks in the fridge, finger prints on the TV, dirty side table, sticky patches on the floor. The toilet seat literaly slid side to side so i don't see how that was cleaned at all to be honest. Rat on the outside of the fence. The cleaner admitted to not cleaning it properly as well then to only get 80 pounds back we couldn't even get a night away for that elsewhere and this was our christmas present to each other we were so disappointed it really ruined our stay. We traveled 9 hours round trip too the whole thing cost a fortune.

Natasha, 10 Jan 2024

Hi Natasha, thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent holiday with us. As mentioned in our subsequent correspondence, we were very disappointed to hear that you weren't happy after your stay. Our guests’ comfort is extremely important to us so we will always go out of our way to rectify any problems that may arise to ensure the best holiday experience possible. Unfortunately we were not made aware until after you had departed and so we couldn't look to make things better whilst you were there. We were under the impression that you were happy with the resolution and have accepted a return discount to stay with us again. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team.

Mary - Luxury Coastal - 10 Jan 2024

I would come back a thousand times! Unique experience

Me and my bf visit the west front for a new year’s getaway and it was one of the best times we ever had. Michael was an excellent host, providing all kind of tips for the stay and being available for us at any time. The location is amazing, so peaceful but also just 5 mins away from the village. I would recommend this stay to anyone and we can’t wait to be back soon! 10/10 for sure!

Claudia Garcia, 08 Jan 2024

Hi Claudia, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at The West Front, Cathedral View. We are so pleased to hear you had the best time away! We can't wait to welcome you to stay again in the future. Best wishes, The Luxury Coastal team

Hope - The Luxury Coastal Team - 08 Jan 2024

The location is perfect, but the accommodation was a little disappointing

The location was lovely; we were perfectly placed to walk into the city of Wells and drive into the Mendips for walks. We were looking forward to our pod, but were slightly disappointed by the cleanliness of it. The pod is described as 5*, but there were aspects of it that should have been better. We found a half eaten cookie under the sofa (our dog tried to snaffle it), the microwave oven was dirty, the cutlery drawer had crumbs left in it, and the cutlery was so grubby, so we found we had to wash everything before using. We struggled with the internet, so couldn't log into our TV apps and had to postpone a work call I had planned based on the fact the pod had Internet. Our highlight was the hot tub and the views from it. We enjoyed it, but the shine was taken off it a little.

Lynne, 03 Nov 2023

Hi Lynne, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear the location was lovely and you loved the views from the hot tub. We are so sorry to hear of your disappointment with the cleanliness, this has been passed onto the site and I can confirm all points you have raised have been acted upon. We do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Best Wishes, The Luxury Coastal Team

Hope - The Luxury Coastal Team - 03 Nov 2023

Related Properties